The Brent Weeks Network

For fans of The Night Angel Trilogy and The Lightbringer Series

Book of The Month

Information

Book of The Month

The Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher is November's Book of the Month.

Members: 117
Latest Activity: Dec 29, 2016

Discussion Forum

R U ready to pick the next book of the month and lead the discussion? 12 Replies

Started by Heather. Last reply by Brad Dickey Oct 27, 2010.

htper-active fantasy quarter.

Started by Brad Dickey Aug 17, 2010.

2010 BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB will be more exciting and prizes galore! 5 Replies

Started by Heather. Last reply by awang Jul 17, 2010.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Book of The Month to add comments!

Comment by Brad Dickey on August 26, 2011 at 9:52pm
Well, reading grrrrrr martins latest.

Its holding yoi to the hype. But I'm not as engrossed as I used to be. Haven't put my finger on the why. Did he rush it this time? Is it too long a layoff? Is it to dry, Or is it monotonou.... or is the layoff affecting how I see it?

Dunno. Have to read it, but its just not doing what the others did for me. Peter and Brent need to get going......
Comment by Trevis J on October 27, 2010 at 1:54pm
My book of the month goes to Peter V Brett: Desert Spear (I think even Brent reviewed it on Amazon, or was that Robin Hobbs either way 2 fab authors gived sparkling review of this book, so it must be briilant...right!!!)

Before you even think of touching this book read Painted Man (or Warded Man I think for Americans), I promise you wouldn't regret it from the first page)
Comment by Heather on September 7, 2010 at 6:25pm
Hey all. I am alive!
I wanted to let you know I will be starting this up again if there is real interest in disuccusions! I aplogize for being away but as u all know life can be a real pain in the ass! So I would like to start off by saying I would like to change it up and let one of u pick a book for each month. I will get u more details this weekend. I look foward to seeing what u pick
Comment by Brad Dickey on September 7, 2010 at 5:14pm
Get, as readers or authors, how do you address the diff flavors of peoples?
Comment by Brad Dickey on September 7, 2010 at 5:13pm
Ok, there ate two authors and a metric ton of readers in here. Here is my question.....jaws music please.....

I often wondered why authors didn't write mote dialects and accents into characters. In the states alone I can give you a dozen different ones before I reach Colorado. I thought it would be a cool way to show the differences etc...

K. Miller mechanically.did a great job of that, but it is kicking my Ass to read it. Anyone got any thoughts there?

Also, its annoying when all the characters sound like the author's speech pattern, but I'm trying to find middle ground here. What works for you guys? As
Comment by Brad Dickey on September 4, 2010 at 3:40pm
Currently with Karen killers new release, The Reluctant Mage. The story flows well. She has concrete characters. It is interesting enough to get me through the OMFG accents and speech patterns of the characters.

I used to wonder why folks didn't do that more, but it is killing me here. I'm bald and my scalp drips red moments of blindness in my eyes from pulling my hair out.
Comment by Brad Dickey on August 21, 2010 at 8:44am
Currently reading l e modessitt's latest imagery book. Good mystery, politics, culture tale. Unique magic which is hard to do these days. Well told tale. I would like more character depth, but his characters aren't shallow. A good read so far.
Comment by Darian Frey on August 21, 2010 at 8:41am
Farlander by col buchanan
Comment by Brandon Smith on August 20, 2010 at 7:53pm
how can i view the previous books of the month
Comment by bonfire on May 25, 2010 at 4:07pm
Well not knowing what you have read means I can only suggest those that i think should be mandatory reading right now.
I could recommend "The Redemption of Althalus" David and Leigh Eddings.
 

Members (117)

 
 
 

© 2017   Created by Brent Weeks.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service