The Brent Weeks Network

For fans of The Night Angel Trilogy and The Lightbringer Series

All Blog Posts (286)

Notes to Self on The Black Prism

The following are notes on the book for myself.

If you wish to add then go ahead as I know I might miss things.

*Last Updated Aug 12*

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



Major Characters:

Kip, General Corvan Danavis, Aliviana "Liv" Danavis, Gavin Guile, Dazen Guile, Karris White Oak, Orea Pullawr a.k.a. The White, Commander Ironfist, King Garadul

Minor…

Continue

Added by BishiBower on August 12, 2012 at 5:33pm — 3 Comments

CAPSLOCK’S Update from the Trenches: (Episode 2)

Happy July everyone! Summer is flying by -- which is a good thing, because we’re getting that much closer to The Blinding Knife pub date!

What have we been up to in the last month? Brent’s had me learning Scrivener. For those of you who haven’t heard of it, Scrivener is super-awesome software that is built JUST FOR WRITERS. For the huge, multifaceted kinds of worlds that Brent likes to write, it’s incredibly useful. There…

Continue

Added by CAPSLOCK on July 20, 2012 at 2:55pm — 1 Comment

Screw Waiting!

I wanted to wait until I have the second book of the Lightbringer series to start reading the first but I couldn't wait.
I have been reading it for a few weeks now and YES!
I love this book. Already on chapter 38 and can't put it down for too long.
Brent: Good job.

Added by BishiBower on July 7, 2012 at 1:05pm — No Comments

Kip and Gavin, Orholam's method of keeping the world safe gone wrong

A thought came to me recently. Supposedly the Prism is meant to be Orholam's representative on earth, keeping volatile Luxin in balance. Except that Prisms never last more that twenty-one years, and most only last seven. It was stated in the book that one prism comes along only once every generation. If I was Orholam that would seem quite a bit of a waste to me. So what he may be doing is trying to increase the number of Prisms so there is no gap when Luxin is allowed to run…

Continue

Added by Mikey Pears on July 3, 2012 at 1:14pm — 2 Comments

Just got perfect shadow in hard back and on my iphone :)

Just got perfect shadow I plan to read it through non stop even at work ;) then i'm going to read through the trilogy again so pumped!!!!!!!! I'll keep an update of what i think of PS and how it translates into the NA trilogy 

Added by Alex Restaino on July 2, 2012 at 11:05am — No Comments

CAPSLOCK’S Update from the Trenches (Episode 1)

Working as Brent’s assistant involves many different tasks. Some weeks, I’m copyediting exclusively. Other times I’m researching 15th-century galleons. Sometimes I’m organizing mailings for a contest. And once in a while, I’m taking down orders for the local sushi place.

Since Brent can’t update everyone on what he’s doing (he’s hard at work actually writing those novels), I thought it would be fun to…

Continue

Added by CAPSLOCK on June 15, 2012 at 2:24pm — 6 Comments

Robo-A-Gogo

Today's writing challenge (given by myself, to myself): psycho-analyze some psychotic robots in the form of a laboratory memo inside a soldier's journal.

3. 2. 1. GO!!

(As an assist to whoever bothers to read this: feel free to read the abbreviation "PSCAI" as "Sky.")

The Field Journal of Lt. Col. Anita Ward, B Company, 1st Batallion, EER



July 23rd, 2086,

Recon teams continue to watch Scraptown. Not…

Continue

Added by Drew on May 10, 2012 at 11:00pm — 1 Comment

What is next -- Magically speaking

The idea of this thread is for all of us to have a good old fashioned tin foil hat speculation about what is going to ooze out of the mind of master weeks and down onto the page which then we will all then devour in 1 frenzied night and arrive at work/school wit our eyes out on stalks. Incidentally I am sort of talking about magical systems, luxin + ka'kari more than story, I will leave that up to the author since he is the one writing it. Here is my little idea, haven't decided if I might…

Continue

Added by Mikey Pears on April 28, 2012 at 1:14pm — 1 Comment

Need opinions on this character description

 

The first thing the eye would be attracted of by Seth, would be a scar just above his upper lip, his eyes are set in a rather shifting gaze between all of his vicinity, with the top of is head decorated by crimson hair, set in a rather ruffled manner. The nonchintic-ness of this would look good upon his image- though klaus’s body seems to be well shaped this might be a concequence due to him training heavily in all sorts of martial arts. His image would mostly be clad in black mail…

Continue

Added by Sean Barnes on April 10, 2012 at 3:27pm — 1 Comment

Thank you Brent Weeks

I have to start off with saying, "Thank you so much Brent Weeks!!"

I have never enjoyed reading through my entire life. i made it all the way to grade 8 with out ever reading an entire novel. i did what ever i could to not read, i made it all the way through high school without finishing more than 3 books. I'm almost 27 and up until a week ago i still had the same feelings about books, no real interest, when my girlfriend dragged me to a book store with her. while killing time i…

Continue

Added by david trent on March 2, 2012 at 7:27am — 1 Comment

Dr3am Kill3rs

I've got more than this written and done, and a lot more planned.  So you guys just let me know if you want anymore of it.  

Marxis went to pull a candy bar from inside the cupboard, when he heard a noise from the room outside the kitchen.  At first he thought it was nothing, until he the reflection of a man on the other side of the wall with a quick look to the microwave.  He quickly, but quietly, moved to the stove and opened it up, revealing a metal briefcase.  He pulled it…

Continue

Added by Bishop on February 21, 2012 at 5:24pm — No Comments

To all the people I've offended in the past

So i relies that in the past i may have offended some people and now i can look back and relies what a douche-nozzle i was. So i guess what happened was i just took constructive criticism as people dissing me, and i know now that's not how it was so this is my apology to all the people I've cause beef with. I hope that i can sort of make amends with every one here cause this Forum is full of kick ass people and i guess I'm just reliesing that so ya. I hope that this is a start…

Continue

Added by Kagé on February 17, 2012 at 4:03pm — No Comments

Just my new story dont got a title yet(Still needs editing)

            I woke up abruptly from my relatively pleasant dream. By relatively pleasant I mean it wasn't a nightmare. Three cloaked figures stood above my bed pistols in hand, one reached down and pulled me by my hair, with unnatural strength he lifted me off my bed until I was eye level with the three unusually tall men. The man didn't see the bolts of lightning moving through my fingers, he also didn't see the gun under my pillow slide out and position itself next to his…

Continue

Added by Kagé on February 16, 2012 at 5:50pm — 1 Comment

Novel ideas - Need advice on how to improve

Main character-:

.Male protagonist                            .Smooth                           .Lives on street

.White hair                                     .Can't control his anger      .Only friend is a women noble

.Red eyes                                      .Starts the novel aged 16   .Owns an old rusty dagger 

.Plays his cards close to his chest. . Magical ability  .Never killed anyone

-His father was a Tru'kor, assassins who use magic as much as…

Continue

Added by Dan Langdon on February 15, 2012 at 2:30pm — 8 Comments

The Melancholy of a Bodyguard

1

When she walks into a room, all is silent.

Poised with aplomb, no one is ever violent.

Classy is her adept style, she’s set to rule.

Be I her earth, always her eternal tool.

 

Her visage of a princess looks smooth like water.

Her words are true, known to have stopped a slaughter.

Clothed in pleasing robes of silk, she has it all.

Eternal bliss, an angel sent from heaven’s hall.

 

Her red lips arouse firm lust, my…

Continue

Added by Mithy on December 5, 2011 at 5:36pm — 8 Comments

Any Authors?

First let me say that I am thankful to any who read this.

Basically I am looking for anyone who has written a story around novel length.

I;m at a loss in my chapter length and need to know what I can add.

Again, thank you and feel free to comment or message me for a chat if you want too :P

Added by Darian Frey on December 3, 2011 at 3:08pm — 5 Comments

Best Author / Books / Series I have read.



Thank you Brent Weeks, for creating my favorite books of all time,

the books of the Night Angel Trilogy. I have read and re-read through

this series 5 times. I am not exaggerating. I got so into this series

right from the beginning. From the moment I finished the first time I

knew, I MUST have MORE. I am very happy to see a new book about Durzo

Blint though and will be getting that very soon. But, I know that

even after I am done reading that, I will need more.…

Continue

Added by Jesse Kempf on October 6, 2011 at 10:31pm — No Comments

for the love of a great author

not really much of a blog, i just had to put this somewhere. That is to say, that Brent Weeks is by far the best author i've read so far. i haven't been so enthused with an author since the fourh grade when i read golden compass and the rest of the 'His Dark Materials' series. i anxiously await his next piece of art that i feel is sooooo far away. but i understand that it takes time to make a master piece. the night angel series was magnificent and so far the lightbringer series is just as… Continue

Added by Jeorge on October 5, 2011 at 2:37pm — No Comments

Makers



            Alex ran through the darkened street, briefcase clutched tightly in his hands as he moved.  There was someone behind him, had been for a while.  They really had been following him, he wasn’t crazy.  He wasn’t being paranoid.  He was right.  They were there.  He rounded a corner and slid to a stop on his knees.  He had to go fast.  The assembly was always the hardest part and most time consuming, but also the most important.  Without it, there was nothing.

           …

Continue

Added by Bishop on September 7, 2011 at 3:47pm — No Comments

Warning for me and any other would-be writer.

     Gerald sat down at his desk, holding the bottle of bourbon up to the light before pouring himself another glass.  Finding the bottom of the bottle, that seemed to be a daily ritual of his nowadays.  He grabbed the paper with the single paragraph on it from his desk and looked at it through somewhat hazy vision.  It read:

 

     Matthew looked at the man with the red-hilted dagger who sat before him.  No words were said, but the man with the red-hilted dagger just…

Continue

Added by Bishop on September 2, 2011 at 9:33pm — No Comments

Monthly Archives

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

1999

© 2017   Created by Brent Weeks.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service