The Brent Weeks Network

For fans of The Night Angel Trilogy and The Lightbringer Series

Hi everyone! I was just wondering, at what point in the books did you know that Brent Weeks was more than just an ordinary writer? That these stories were more than just words on a page but a whole different world. I can tell you that, for me, it was in 'The Way of Shadows' when Roth asks Momma K if she enjoyed her braised peasant and Momma K asks if he said pheasant. 'Roth only smiled.' That moment! That was it. I bet Brent knew he had a winner right there. I'm curious though, when did other people have that moment. Would love to know!

Views: 298

Comment

You need to be a member of The Brent Weeks Network to add comments!

Join The Brent Weeks Network

Comment by Triston Cooley on April 16, 2015 at 6:41am

I absolutely loved the entire series, by it is my all time favorite series. the first sot that i realized it was more then an ordinary book was on the first couple of pages when Durzo is in the Bar and he says "I killed six men tonight. Are you sure you want to make it seven?" at that point i was like. "ooohhh yesss! I am going to love these characters." 

Comment by Master Khan Drolar on October 19, 2014 at 10:11pm

When Durzo tells Azoth "I died years ago". at the time i thought it meant his innocence. Now you come to realize it was literal. There are just linkages in the night angel trilogy that are so well done and so... subtle.

Comment by Codey Crawford on October 1, 2014 at 7:54am

When Durzo spared Azoth in The Way of the Shadows.

Comment by M1k31 on August 13, 2014 at 10:17pm

I think there were quite a few places in his stories(though yes I was hooked by the first one, it has been far too long for me to remember which parts were the first that told me he was a master...) for instance I found The mad prophet such a rich character that he easily could have been the A story main character in the plot of a lesser book, but here he was not only a B story character but much of the comedic relief!!!  I just about died when after telling his friend to make the sword how he felt he should his friends whimsical copyright ended up being the correct way to make the sword.

as far as a good storyteller I consider it a boon that an author could torture their main character so much and not come out of it a sadistic prick

The other noteworthy thing I think must not be overlooked is the amount of information packed into each page that allows the reader to feel as though they are able to read 12 pages+ ahead into this world and story he has written while still maintaining at least one surprise around every corner(and that he doesn't need to cheat the story, like other books I have read where the entirety of the story is from 1 characters perspective and then a bunch of chapters in a different characters perspective following the books time progression they have revealed by the first character that their "perspective" was actually not showing facts they knew and were supposedly thinking about the entire time..).

Comment by Mario Jasso on May 14, 2014 at 9:46pm

Probably everyone who enjoys fiction gets to the point where they're reading along and find themselves thinking they know some plot-twist (character death, betrayal, etc.) is coming.  Reading through Brent's work, though, I find myself having no idea what's going to come next and relishing every turn of the page (or swipe of a tablet).  So it's been less of a "moment" for me, but more of a realization that I really had no idea what to expect that makes me love the stuff Brent has written.

© 2017   Created by Brent Weeks.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service